Skip to content

Troy and Glen Carbon Seats Contested

by Randy Pierce

Seats on the Madison County Board that represent districts which include areas of Troy and Glen Carbon are among those up for grabs in the Nov. 8 general election. 

In Madison County Board District 2, incumbent Republican Stacey Pace is being opposed by a Democratic candidate, Charles “CJ” Metheny. Both reside in Troy. 

The county board seat for the 26th district which takes in Glen Carbon, vacated when it’s incumbent, Erica Conway Harriss chose to run for a state legislative position, is being sought by Democrat Collin VanMeter and Republican Jason Palmero. Conway Harriss, running as a Republican, is challenging Kris Tharp of Wood River for the position of state senator for the 56th legislative district in Illinois.

Among the county board members running for reelection without opposition are Republican incumbents Bobby Ross of St. Jacob in District 4, Dalton Gray of Collinsville in District 11, Ryan Kneedler of Collinsville in District 22 and Chris Guy of Maryville in District 25.

In countywide races, a Republican incumbent running unopposed is Treasurer Chris Slusser while Jeff Connor is without an opponent in seeking election as sheriff. County Clerk Debra Ming-Mendoza, a Democrat, is up for reelection and opposed by Republican Linda Andreas. 

There are four judicial positions on the Madison County ballot which all feature contested races. In the first subcircuit of the Third Judicial Circuit, the candidates are Democrats John Barry Julian, A. Ryan Jumper and Ebony Huddleston with Republican opposition, respectively, from Christopher Threlkeld, Tim Berkley and Amy Sholar. These races are being conducted to fill vacancies formerly held by David W. Dugan, William A. Mudge and Richard L. Tognarelli. 

Brian Roberts, a Democrat, is running against Republican Mike McHaney to fill a vacant position formerly held by David K. Overstreet in the Fifth Judicial District of the appellate court. Also, in the fifth judicial district of the appellate court, Judy Cates is on the ballot for retention.


Candidates for contested seats include (clockwise) Collin VanMeter, Charles “CJ” Metheny, Stacey Pace and Jason Palmero.

1 Comment

  1. Anonymous on October 25, 2022 at 6:06 pm

    Jason Palmero is my choice

Leave a Comment