Skip to content

Inaugural Kahok Hall of Fame class announced

By Mark Jurgena

During the Collinsville-Oakville, Mo. game at the Prarie Farms Holiday Classic on Dec. 28, the inaugural class was introduced to the public for the first time.

There are two classifications for the Kahok Hall of Fame. One is the Distinguished class where, “Individuals are recognized for community service, academic achievement, professional accomplishment and/or school district employment,” according to the district website.

The other classification is for athletics where, “Individuals, teams, and coaches are recognized for their success and accomplishments.”

Those in the Distinguished category included Donald Bitzer (Class of 1951), Irving Dilliard (1923), Moses Harrison II (1950), Richard Mark (1923), John Shimkus (1926), Lucille Stehman (1936), Mathew Welch (1910).

Those inducted into the Athletics category included Michelle Bartsch-Hackley (Class of 2008), Terry Bethel (1957), Walter “Hoot” Evers (1938), Arthur Fletcher, Vergil Fletcher, Tom Jager (1982), George Musso (1918), Bogie Redmon (1961), Joe Reiniger (1989), Fred Riddle (1961).

Teams inducted into the Hall include the state champions from the 1941 boys baseball team, 1961 boys basketball team, 1981 boys soccer team, and the 2010 girls bowling team.

The new inductees will be part of a ceremony to officially induct them into the Kahok Hall of Fame dinner on Feb. 16 at the Gateway Center in Collinsville. The public can purchase tickets for the event for $35.00. They can be purchased on GoFan:

1 Comment

  1. Anonymous on January 6, 2023 at 1:01 pm

    What about Richard L Moore who played in the 60s, and gave his life in Viet Nam.

Leave a Comment