Skip to content

Triad High School honors Illinois State Scholars

State salutes 38 Triad High School students as “the best and the brightest”

by Times Tribune Staff

TROY – Triad High School Principal Kelli Barbour is pleased to announce that 38 Triad High School students have been recognized as “2024-2025 Illinois State Scholars”.

The prestigious award, given annually by the Illinois Student Assistance Commission (ISAC), recognized 18,863 high school students from across the state as this year’s State Scholars. Since 1979, over 582,000 Illinois students have been honored as State Scholars.

Illinois State Scholar winners rank in the top 10% of high school seniors from 749 different high schools across the state. Selection is based on SAT, ACT and/or Prairie State Achievement Exam scores, and/or class rank at the end of the junior year. High school guidance counselors work in conjunction with ISAC to determine the winners.

“We’re pleased to honor this year’s Illinois State Scholars,” said Eric Zarnikow, ISAC Executive Director. “Not only do they represent the best in educational excellence in Illinois, they also are key to the state’s future economic well-being. The Commission applauds their success and salutes their families and the teachers at Triad High School on this achievement.”

While the prestigious recognition does not include a monetary award, recipients are encouraged to cite the honor on applications for college admission and scholarships in addition to completing the Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) after January 1 to determine eligibility for federal and state aid, including Illinois’ $387 million need-based Monetary Award Program (MAP).

“Each of the 38 Triad High School students should take pride in their accomplishment and what it says about their commitment to academic attainment,” Zarnikow concluded.

Originally formed as the Illinois State Scholarship Commission in 1957, the Illinois Student Assistance Commission provides students of all ages and backgrounds with the resources and support to help obtain financial aid for higher education.

A state agency, ISAC has paved the path to postsecondary education with innovative programs for over 50 years. The Commission continued its mission to make college accessible and affordable for Illinois students by administering over 182,000 grants and scholarships totaling over $417 million in FY2011 alone.

The Commission provides educational funding via numerous programs such as the Monetary Award Program (MAP), the Illinois Veteran Grant and College Illinois! Prepaid Tuition Program. Students and families have free access to a wealth of financial aid and college planning information at ISAC’s family of websites available at, and

Triad High School’s Illinois State Scholars are:

Noah Allen, Logan Droege, Payton Markovic, Anna Riley, Amanda Bagwell, Hannah Eade, Bradley McCallum, Koen Riney, Rachel Bergmann, Baylee Fulkerson, Jacob Metcalf, Katelyn Russell, Madelyn Bleier, Pacey Harms, Thomas Miller, Ethan Schmidt, Carson Bohnenstiehl, Emma Hill, Samuel Mueller, Nora Stanton, Alexander Brault, Lexi Johnson, Kendall Panyik, Joshua Wagner, Reed Buchana, Kaelynn Kientzel, Cody Patterson, Mitchell Wilson, Abigail Cocran, Kaylee Kitchen, Alyssa Pokorny, Aubrie Young, Nathaniel Craig, Kathryn Konieczny, Tyler Ray, Colin Daniel, Calla Litteken and Isabel Rehg.

For more information about this program or other programs administered by ISAC, you can call Jason Kapp, Triad High School Guidance Director at (618) 667-8851, ext. 7427, by calling (800) 899-ISAC (4722), or by visiting their website at

Triad High School Principal Kelli Barbour is pleased to announce that 38 Triad High School students have been recognized as “2024-2025 Illinois State Scholars”

Leave a Comment