Skip to content

Election Results Bring Changes To Local Boards

By Steve Rensberry, Editor, Editor

People will be seeing some new faces on area municipal, school and library boards and councils this year, following the results of the April 2 Consolidated Election.

The percentage of registered voters who made it to the polls in Madison County was very low (11.8 percent), and many open positions around the county did not have enough candidates. Glen Carbon had six write-in candidates vying for one of two trustee positions. The race for St. Jacob Village Board also was one candidate short, with two people running for three seat.

But there were some decisive races nevertheless.

In Troy, two new aldermen will be joining the council: Daniel Dawson, who was elected in an uncontested race in Ward 3, replacing Jeff Zarzecki who decided not to seek reelection. Newcomer Tony Manley won a definitive victory over incumbent Dan Jackson in Ward I with a vote of 169 to 54.

Alderman Doug Partney fended off a challenge from Tim Greenfield, winning holding on to his seat with 84 votes to Greenfield’s 52.

Alderman Troy Turner also held on to his position against challenges, gaining 36 votes to 25 for Aaron Adams, and 13 for Jack Haggard.

Alderman Bonbie Levo was elected to finish out a 2-year term as Ward 3 Alderman, with 71 votes.

In Collinsville, incumbent Mayor John Miller was re-elected for another 4-year term, receiving 1,223 votes to 906 for challenger Nancy Moss. Alderman Jeff Stehman also won re-election to a seat on the council, receiving 1,207 votes. The second of two open seats was won by Anthony Hausmann, who received 1,182. Others Collinsville Council candidates included Myles Nelson and Matthew Sebastian, who received 697 and 628 votes respectively.

All three incumbents on the Maryville Village Board, Todd Bell (344), Rod Schmidt (360), and MikeVallino (325) won re-election, with challenger Anthony “Tony” Moses coming in a close fourth with 284 votes.

In Marine, where seven candidates were vying for three seats on the village board, the winners were incumbent Rae Lynne Meyer with 102 votes, Kenneth Moss with 106, and Mark Voigt with 111. Incumbents Bill Ferris and Terry Gergen Sr., both lost their bid for re-election, with 49 and 32 votes respectively. Candidate John Perkins received 100 votes, and Brian Kelly received 28.

St. Jacob trustee candidates Guideon Richeson and Timothy Elliot both won reelection, receiving 60 and 64 votes respectively. There were only two candidates running for three open seats.

One of the more significant referendums on the ballot in the this are was the transportation tax increase for those in Collinsville CUSD 10, when went down in defeat with 937 voting “yes,” and 1,999 voting “no.”

A tax levy pertaining to the Marine Sanitary District, however, was approved on a vote of 118 “yes” and 73 “no.”

Leave a Comment